Explaining my narcissistic attempt of talking about my mental health.

Hi.

My name is Alexis and I have generalized anxiety disorder.

*Hi Alexis.*

I also have a cat (pictured). His name is Khan.

I’m assuming most of the people reading this are my friends and family who all know me.

But if for some reason if you have stumbled across this, hello!

As I type this, I am a senior studying film studies at UNCW. I also throw for the Woman’s Track and Field team. I feel like with the information I just gave you, you could find me on any social media platform now (or you could go to my social link page when I actually get to updating it, but whichever way floats your boat.)

I guess if you’re reading this you may have a couple questions such as, “What is this?,” “Why is she doing this?,” and “What does ‘I’m a Sad Blob’ even mean?” Well, allow me to answer those questions.

“What is this?”

Well clearly this is a blog. Now that that’s settled, next question.

“Why is she doing this?”

As someone who does not fit into the TV/Movie version of someone who has battled depression and has anxiety (surprisingly, I don’t find myself looking out of windows with just one hand on the glass as much as TV told me I would) I wanted to create a written log of the thoughts I have, or the things I do because my brain believes that all my irrational thoughts hold merit. I want to use this as another way of battling the stigma of talking openly about mental health disorders and living with an invisible disease.

I am also currently working on a documentary focusing on my personal mental health journey. So I guess this is a behind the scenes look before the finished project. Personally, I like this idea of a blog better because at least you all won’t be able to hear me crying. But then you won’t hear me laugh either, so I guess it’s a win/lose situation for us all. As I create more posts hopefully the overall feel of what I’m trying to create becomes more clear.

And now, the final question.

“What does ‘I’m a Sad Blob’ even mean?”

So imagine it’s 2001. You’re actually watching TV, because Netflix and YouTube aren’t things yet. And then you see this commercial.

 

Remember this commercial? It’s all about a sad blob. And two weeks ago my doctor prescribed me Zoloft and my FIRST thought when he said that was this sad blob.

So I’m a Sad Blob.

And this is the first post in my blog.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

